What I Want to be When I Grow Up

No matter how old we are, we all wonder that. What do we want to do with our lives? Well, I think I have made my main decision. As a Catholic, I believe that our purpose in life is to know, love, and serve God in this world and be happy with Him forever in the next (paraphrased from Baltimore Catechism), and that has always been my primary goal. However, I see where in accomplishing this I could fill a much-needed gap–to become the patron saint of web designers and computer programmers.

You see, web designers and computer programmers do not have many specially-designated saints to help with making the tech world go ’round. Oh, we have the likes of St. Isidore as the Patron Saint of the Internet itself and Blessed Titus Brandsma looking out for us bloggers (both of whom I’ve written about). And we’ve also got St. Thomas Aquinas as the Patron Saint of Scholars (one of them, anyway). But, to the best of my knowledge, we do not have a web designer or computer programmer actually canonized. This is a void that must be filled; who better than another coder–aside from God, Who knows all things–to understand the frustration over padding and alignment or maniacally running hands through hair, desperate to find just where the heck that bug in the program is (I’ve done this multiple times, especially when I took a computer programming class in college. I considered it a miracle that I had any hair left at the end of that semester).

So fear not, fellow coders! I’m doing my best to get to Heaven in part so I can help you. You might have a while to wait, though. Just sit tight and ask St. Isidore for help.

Leave a comment

Filed under Catholic Stuff, Technology

Leave a Reply

