You Know You’ve Listened to “The Phantom of the Opera” a Few Too Many Times When…

…you start to dream you’re in the cast. The only problem was that I didn’t want to be in the cast but had no say in the matter. It happened something like this.

Last night I dreamed I was watching the silent version of The Phantom of the Opera (why I was dreaming about a movie I’ve already seen is beyond me), when, all of a sudden, I was actually in the movie along with a whole bunch of other people who weren’t supposed to be there, either. And we had problems. The movie plot was changing because Erik had somehow become aware of himself as a character in a story, and he decided to use this awareness to stage his own version of the musical. Somehow he had drawn us into the movie because he wanted to use us as the cast. The next thing I know, Erik’s got me on stage–in front of an audience, no less–singing “Wishing You Were Somehow Here Again”. I remember being terrified for most of the performance. I am not a soprano by any stretch of the imagination, but if I lower the key, I can get through “Wishing You Were Somehow Here Again”. But in the dream, Erik didn’t give us any time to rehearse–he just shoved us out there–so I spent most of the performance petrified that I wouldn’t be able to transpose correctly on the first try and, consequently, wouldn’t be able to hit the high notes properly.

Somehow I got it right on the first try. Granted, my voice was a little shaky at first, but I took comfort in the thought that the audience would just think I was so in character that I was being especially emotional. That thought got me calmer, and on the whole, the song sounded pretty good. In fact, I was starting to enjoy myself…and then my dream shifted, making me go “drat!” because “Wandering Child” is one of my favorites. But at least I managed to not make a fool of myself on stage…even if it was just in my head.

Leave a comment

Filed under Random Things of Randomness

Leave a Reply

