Tolkien Week Post #4–I Bid You STAND, Men of the West!

Today’s post features Aragorn’s speech to the combined armies of Gondor and Rohan as the battle at the Black Gate is about to begin. They are sorely outnumbered, and they know it, and some of them might have been tempted to give up…until Aragorn inspired them anew. This is another of my favorite LotR speeches and one I want to memorize so I can quote it at random intervals.

And this is another one worth transcribing, and fortunately for me, the YouTube uploader did just that:

“Sons of Gondor, of Rohan, my brothers! I see in your eyes the same fear that would take the heart of me. A day may come when the courage of men fails, when we forsake our friends and break all bonds of fellowship, but it is not this day. An hour of wolves and shattered shields, when the Age of Men comes crashing down, but it is not this day! This day we fight!! By all that you hold dear on this good Earth, I bid you stand, Men of the West!!!”

2 Comments

Filed under Reviews

2 responses to “Tolkien Week Post #4–I Bid You STAND, Men of the West!

  1. Bravo, Emerald!

    Two thumbs up; very inspiring speech šŸ™‚ Honestly, I think this was the scene where I gained the most respect for Aragorn as a leader. This and his efforts to ralley the dead men of the mountain to the cause of the rightful king.

    It’s always nice to see the speeches written out, so thanks for posting them typed out as opposed to just putting up the YouTube video clip.

    Blessings,
    Pearl

Leave a Reply

