As Foretold: Random “Les Miserables” Post

I warned everyone that there were probably going to be some random posts involving either Phantom of the Opera or Les Miserables. Today is one of those random days, and you’re getting not one, but TWO versions of “Stars” from Les Miserables. I like this song for two reasons really:

  1. It’s a nice song and really a shame they don’t have songs like this on the radio–or singers this good. I might listen more often if it did.
  2. It gives Javert a third dimension. Rather than just being the relentless detective that hounds Valjean relentlessly, we get to hear how he thinks, what makes him tick. What we hear in the song is part of what makes me not regard him as strictly a villain–he was trying to do his job; he just didn’t understand when to let up and show mercy.

And now for those two versions…one is by Norm Lewis, who played Javert in the 25th anniversary performance of Les Miserables. He makes an awesome Javert, and part of me wishes he had been cast in the December movie.

I do hope you haven’t passed out from the awesomeness yet because there’s more on the way. This version of “Stars” is by Hadley Fraser, who also played Vicomte Raoul de Chagny in The Phantom of the Opera‘s 25th anniversary. I thought Hadley was good when I first heard him in that, but oh my goodness, he blew me away when I first heard him as JavertIt seemed to me that he had been holding back in Phantom, and this was a taste of how astounding he really is.

Yep. We definitely need more singers like this on American radio.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under National Blog Post Writing Month November 2012, Random Things of Randomness

Leave a Reply

