Hooray for Enterprising YouTube Users!

The amateur video editors on YouTube can put up some pretty spiffy stuff–one day I hope to be half as good as some of these people. What I’m going to focus on today, though, is a video that took something mediocre and made it awesome. I’m referring to the 2004 version of The Phantom of the Opera as seen below:

In my rather unimportant opinion in the grand scheme of things, I think the singing could be better. I kind of feel I’m not in a position to judge since I was not starring in smash-hit musicals when I was Emmy Rossum’s age–not even a little bit. Still, I can’t help having opinions.

Fortunately, someone else shared my opinion and decided to do something about it. They took the video but provided new voices, namely the incredibly (and insanely) talented Ramin Karimloo and Gina Beck. The results of this audio-video Frankensteining can be seen below:

Isn’t that awesome? Bravo, whoever you are. This also gives me an idea–what if someone took the 2004 movie and synced it to the soundtrack from the 25th anniversary? I’d do it myself if I had access to 2004 footage, better equipment for this sort of thing, and way too much free time on my hands. Well, I suppose it would be a good project if I ever get snowed in, but I’d still need the other two materials. Who knows?

(Yes, this was one of those random Phantom of the Opera posts I warned everyone might pop up. It’s called the post I was originally planning for today will have to be delayed for a bit, so I had to improvise.)

Leave a comment

Filed under National Blog Post Writing Month November 2012, Random Things of Randomness

Leave a Reply

