I Hate It When I Give Myself Ideas

Usually the ideas are complex and involve a good deal of brain work, and temporary insanity is the inevitable result. But does this stop me? No. There are always downsides to being stubborn.

The most recent example of idea-giving came from a post I did a few weeks ago. Remember “Hooray for Enterprise YouTube Users!” and how I said someone should dub the 25th anniversary soundtrack over the 2004 Phantom of the Opera film? And do you remember how I said I would do it myself if I had access to the 2004 footage?

I think you know where this is going.

Yes, I have set off on this endeavor. The results are amazing, but my brain has endured some terrible abuse in the process. Apparently the special plot element for the movie was, “We’re going to speed up the tempo of all the songs!” And the 25th anniversary performed the songs at their proper tempo. Oh, and did I mention that the movie changed some of the lyrics?

Yeah, the dubbing is not very even in spots. “Think of Me” was pretty much a wash due to the massive lyric overhall, and I couldn’t even do “Little Lotte” because Emmy Rossum and Patrick Wilson SPOKE the parts instead of SINGING them (whose idea was that? Really, who thought that was a good idea?). “Music of the Night” was a veritable nightmare, and “The Point of No Return” kept having to be slowed down and sped up. Ah, yes, and the title song from the movie had a verse deleted, so I had to attempt a song edit to mirror that change. Result: it’s kind of choppy.

Mind you, it hasn’t all been nightmarish mental torture and tears. The mirror scene came out beautifully, and “All I Ask of You” was a much smoother edit than I had been expecting. Also, the first round of “Notes”, which I had been dreading, was easier to dub than I had feared.

All in all, it’s almost done, for which I am extremely grateful and excited. And yet–perhaps because my brain enjoys being punished–I will miss it a little bit.

Leave a comment

Filed under National Blog Post Writing Month November 2012, Random Things of Randomness

Leave a Reply

