Some Thoughts on Altar Decorations

Altar decorations should be tasteful and honor Our Lord, not try to be some sort of artistic statement. This has come up recently when I was at Mass the other day and noticed that some of the altar decorations were pumpkins and dried-up corn husks. I completely understand and appreciate wanting to thank God for a bountiful harvest, but I question the use of the corn husks. Pumpkins I can understand–I may think they belong elsewhere than on the altar, but I can understand them. I cannot understand the corn husks. And the corn husks were in bigger vases than the tasetful dark orange flowers that also graced the altar. I did not think that was fair.

Sigh. Maybe they won’t use the corn husks next year.

Leave a comment

Filed under Catholic Stuff, National Blog Post Writing Month November 2012

Leave a Reply

