A Review of My New MP3 Player, the Sansa Fuze+

I’ve been wanting to write this article for a few weeks but have kept forgetting to do so. Well, I’m remembering now. I wanted to give my impressions on using the SanDisk Sansa Fuze+, a portable media player, since it has received so many negative reviews out there in Internetland–rather unfairly, in my opinion.

I purchased the Fuze+ after several weeks of research spurred by the slow death of my old MP3 player, the Sansa Clip. It was a dogged little media player, but it only had 1 GB of memory, and it was almost out. Now I had been considering buying a new one since it was almost out of memory but hadn’t done much about it. That all changed the morning I turned it on and discovered it had deleted a couple of songs without being instructed to do so.

So I conducted research–boy, did I conduct research! I did so much research my brain almost turned to mush. The Fuze+ was one of the first possible replacements I found, and I was attracted to it because it had the same manufacturer as my Clip, and I knew SanDisk made quality MP3 players (really, I’d dropped the Clip numerous times only to have it still play afterwards. It was practically unkillable). However, I noticed that the Fuze+ had received a lot of negative reviews, so I was hesitant about purchasing it. After scads and scads of research, though, I finally decided to give it a try–and I love it. The sound quality is even better than on my Clip; battery life is nice and long, and the screen is incredibly crisp and detailed. I thought videos would be too small and blurry to see properly, but the display is amazing. Also, navigation is not as complicated as a lot of reviewers would have you believe. It’s actually pretty straightforward. It has the extra bonus of being able to play all sorts of audio files, even audiobooks, and the media converter, which you can download from the SanDisk site, makes video and picture conversions extremely easy. And did I mention it’s got a built-in FM radio?

So, to summarize, I firmly believe my Sansa Fuze+ is every bit as good as any of Apple’s iPod products, and it comes at a fraction of what Apple charges for its media players. If you’re ever in the market for a new media player, I definitely recommend you give a serious look at SanDisk’s products.

The Sansa Fuze+

The Sansa Fuze+ (courtesy of the Best Buy website)

Leave a comment

Filed under Reviews, Technology

Leave a Reply

