My Initial Reaction to “The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey” (Contains Spoilers)

A collection of my thoughts as I watched The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey for the first time:

  • Somebody give Martin Freeman an award for Best Actor. And Sylvester McCoy needs something for Best Supporting Actor.
  • Erebor looked incredible.
  • The scene where Gandalf first talks to Bilbo–AWESOME.
  • They did the kitchen song!
  • Dwarves are good singers.
  • Sylvester McCoy as Radagast–AWESOME.
  • Radagast exploring Dol Guldur–AWESOM-ER.
  • Gandalf’s expression of wanting to punch Saruman was priceless.
  • Come the zombie apocalypse, I want Thorin Oakenshield and Company on my team.
  • I totally wanted Bilbo to go all ninja on Azog.
  • JACKSON! HOW COULD YOU END IT THERE!?
2 Comments

Filed under Reviews

2 responses to “My Initial Reaction to “The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey” (Contains Spoilers)

  1. Hail, Epic Emerald,

    Hmm…..your comments on “The Hobbit” have a certain foreign-language ring to them! 😉 I must admit, peer pressure is making a real impression on my hitherto “Ring”less world. At the urging of various associates, I just ordered the extended version of “Fellowship of the Ring”, and I probably will be watching the first installment of “The Hobbit” when it comes out on DVD……And I’m still waiting for you to prove your broad-mindedness by watching a rough-and-tumble historical flick……beware when next you visit my humble abode; I’m totally prepared to tie you to a chair if necessary 😉

    Your Friend,
    Rosaria Marie

    • You’ll probably liked the extended edition of “Fellowship”; it fleshes out the story much better than the regular theatrical version. And while “The Hobbit” deviated from the book in a lot of places, it was still fun to watch. Okay, *I* enjoyed it. I am making no statements as to whether or not you will like it.

      And I have seen rough-and-tumble historical flicks before, and none of them made a particularly lasting impression on me. I completely believe you are willing to tie me to a chair; I’m just not sure how much good it will do you. 😉

Leave a Reply

