Timing is Everything

Sometimes I can’t help but wonder why it takes me a long time to find something is good. For example, why couldn’t I have discovered Les Miserables while it was still touring the US? Why did it take me so long to realize that relish is good on sandwiches? And for good measure, why couldn’t I have found out about the Lord of the Rings musical while it was still going on?

Yes, my friends, there once was a Lord of the Rings musical. I believe it debuted around 2004 and ran until 2007 or 2008. And it had amazing numbers, like this:

and this:

and this:

As an unashamed fan of all things Tolkien, this immediately joined Phantom of the Opera and Les Miserables on my list of musicals I really need to see in person. Unfortunately, it is no longer running anywhere, and I doubt it will ever be revived–certainly not in America; I heard it was very poorly received here.

Sigh. At least we have YouTube.

Leave a comment

Filed under Random Things of Randomness

Leave a Reply

