A Very Brief “Once Upon a Time in Wonderland” Review

I was going to write this last night, but the news about the recovered Doctor Who episodes took precedence. Long story short–I wasn’t impressed. It had an interesting premise, and I might have enjoyed watching it if they hadn’t the brilliant idea to include elements from Aladdin. That’s right, ladies and gentlemen, Once Upon a Time in Wonderland is actually a crossover between Alice in Wonderland and Aladdin. That just made the whole thing a little ludicrous for my tastes. It’s one thing in the original Once Upon a Time when different characters from different stories show up; that’s part of the show’s premise, but when a show has “Wonderland” in the title, you naturally assume it will be about the characters native to Wonderland! You do not expect Jafar to show up and be a pitiful imitation of Rumpelstiltskin!

I also found the writing to be less compelling than the pilot for Once Upon a Time. Now that pilot had me hooked from the very beginning, and I couldn’t wait to see what happened next. This one left me feeling “meh”. I almost wonder if they decided to spend their budget money on the CGI instead of a decent plot. Oh, and I haven’t even mentioned the love story that makes me want to gag.

“When you really love someone, you don’t need proof. You just know.” Gag. All I really want is a satisfactory resolution to the Rumpelstiltskin/Belle storyline; I really couldn’t care less about Alice and Cyrus. Suffice it to say, I don’t think I’ll be watching next week…or ever again unless Rumpelstiltskin shows up to show Jafar how Evil Magical Overlord is really done.

Leave a comment

Filed under Reviews

Leave a Reply

