Hashtag: Shut Up!

I don’t know about you, but I’m getting pretty annoyed with the ubiquitous hashtag. It seems they’re everywhere these days–on websites, on burger boxes, even on the TV! I have news for you, people; I do not care what your opinion is on the Big Mac vs. the Whopper! And why do you have to update your social media sites while watching TV shows? I mean, can’t your opinions wait until after the show airs? Or is really that much fun to write about your favorite shows and have the hashtag show up in a major search?

In case you haven’t guessed, I think we need to do away with the hashtag. It was cool at first, but now it’s pervasive to the point of nausea. Or maybe we don’t have to do away with them altogether; maybe we can just limit their usage–put them back solely on Twitter where they came from in the first place. That’s not asking too much, is it?

I could conclude by preaching about how the hashtag’s popularity explosion is just another manifestation of the 21st-century mindset of Self being the center of the universe, but instead I find myself slightly concerned by the number of italics I had in the first paragraph. I’m pretty sure that’s the most italics I’ve ever used in a single paragraph.

Leave a comment

Filed under National Blog Post Writing Month November 2013, Random Things of Randomness

Leave a Reply

