Slowly but Surely, We’re Getting More Sherlock!

The BBC announced earlier today that filming for the fourth season of Sherlock will begin in January 2015, with the show itself returning at a later date. This time we’re getting four episodes, a special episode followed by the three regular installments.

We still have a ways to go before the great detective returns to our screens, but at least Holmes and Co. are starting to plod in our general direction. Ah, well, at least Doctor Who is coming back next month.

http://www.bbcamerica.com/anglophenia/2014/07/surprise-sherlock/

5 Comments

Filed under Reviews

5 responses to “Slowly but Surely, We’re Getting More Sherlock!

  1. Oh! I can’t wait! Thanks for posting. Do you think Season Three made as much of an effort to relate to the actual stories? I kind of think Season Three departed from the original stories a lot more than One and Two.

    • Season three may not have adhered as strictly to the original stories (although “His Last Vow” was pretty close to “The Adventure of Charles Augustus Milverton”), but they did make some great strides with character development, especially showing how Sherlock’s appreciation for his friends is growing now that he lived two years without them.

      • Hmmm… that’s a very good point. I’m fully expecting to receive Season Three as an anniversary gift next week; believe me, I have dropped enough hints! I am looking forward to watching it again and I will watch with your comment in mind. I love the stories so much that I’m always looking for the references. Now that I’m thinking about it, the holiday weekend will be a great time to watch Season Two again just so I’m prepared! Do you think they’ll ever try “Silver Blaze?” I would love to see that, and, you know, it’s got one of Sherlock Holmes’s most famous one-liners so it’s hard to see how they could leave it out!

  2. ramblingmadman90

    To be honest, after Season 3 I’m kind of hoping that they end it soon. Its not that I don’t like the show, I love it. Season 1 and 2 are some of my favourite pieces of television, but if Breaking Bad taught me anything, its that the best shows don’t stick around for too long. Season 3 showed they are sort of running out of ideas, definitely running out of the best stories. I’m sure they can make a great Christmas special and that Season 4 will still be good, but I do kind of hope that it ends there.

Leave a Reply

