A Decision (Which Might be Unpopular)

In my previous post, I talked about how I was finally getting around to watching the X-Men movies, and at that point I had only seen two of them. Now I’ve seen four (the original trilogy plus X-Men Origins: Wolverine), and I have reached a decision. It will undoubtedly ruffle some feathers, and I am prepared to dive behind my couch to avoid the flying vegetables that might be pelted in my direction.

*Inhales deeply* I like the X-Men movies better than the Avengers franchise! *Dives behind couch*

Yes, I know the Avengers movies are bigger and more popular, and I’m not saying I don’t like them–I do. Iron Man was good; Captain America was really good; Thor was…middling but still enjoyable (thanks in large part to Tom Hiddleston’s relentless screen hogging–seriously, how are we supposed to root against the villain when he’s more compelling than the hero?), and The Avengers in general was a fun, fast-paced ride. But these movies do tend to be oddly serious at times, a seriousness that doesn’t always fit the premise. Come on, it’s a comic book–maybe I’m old school, but I want some fun and light-heartedness in comic book-based movies! (Sometimes the darker tones work well a la Christopher Nolan’s Batman trilogy, but that’s another post entirely.)

The X-Men movies do deal with serious themes, but there also seems to be a more fun, almost tongue-in-cheek aspect to them as well. After all, you can only be so serious when dealing with mutants in odd costumes. But what really gets me is the compelling storylines behind the characters themselves. For instance, Erik/Magneto was an unexpectedly understandable and relatable character–he already lived through one holocaust and feared he would see another, but he thought the only answer was to kill the ordinary humans before they could kill the mutants. And then we have Logan/Wolverine taking responsibility for Marie/Rogue’s safety to the point of risking his own life to save her, Kurt/Nightcrawler’s insistence that faith and love are more powerful than hatred–this is all really compelling, detailed character development.

I’ve been impressed with the X-Men movies. I didn’t think I would like them, but I have. I’m interested to see how the others play out and if there will be any others in the future. And maybe one of those future movies will explain why Wolverine’s hair is so weird.

4 Comments

Filed under Reviews

4 responses to “A Decision (Which Might be Unpopular)

  1. I love the X-Men movies! You should check out X-Men:First Class and X-Men:Days of Future Past. They are making one more set to be released in 2016 called X-Men:Apocalypse.

    • Both movies are already on my “to watch” list! Are they making another? Awesome. For some reason I thought they were going to stop after Days of Future Past.

      • They want to pump out one last one before the rights revert back to Disney. Besides Apocalypse has a really fun storyline! Can’t wait to see what you think of First Class!

  2. I absolutely agree with you. I like the way the X-Men movies connected together so well. It was less predictable than Avengers. The characters have wonderful back stories which makes them all the more likable/hateable. I can’t wait to see if them make more. I’ll be first in line!

Leave a Reply

