Why Can’t People Leave Well Enough Alone?

Today I happened to find an article (can’t find it now, or I’d post it) reporting that a Phantom of the Opera-themed TV show is in the works. I was skeptical, of course, but my curiosity was piqued to learn that it is going to be based off Gaston Leroux’s original novel. Cue cheering. Then I saw the line saying it is going to be set in the modern-day music industry.

…what? If it’s set in the modern-day music industry, how can it be based on the book!? You can’t have it both ways, people! Suffice it to say that what faith I had in this venture has plummeted into the cellars of the Opera House. This cannot end well.

Update: I found the link: http://www.broadway.com/buzz/178062/stranger-than-we-dreamt-it-phantom-gets-small-screen-treatment-with-help-from-first-date-team/

Leave a comment

Filed under Reviews

Leave a Reply

