The St. Andrew Christmas Novena

Today is the First Sunday of Advent, the start of a new liturgical year, and I am out of clever and insightful things to say about it this year. Maybe next year I’ll have better luck for a good post about it. In the meantime, though, I thought it would be a good idea to direct your attention to the St. Andrew Christmas Novena.

A novena is usually a prayer said once a day for nine days, and we get the nine days tradition from the Apostles, who spent nine days in the upper room waiting for the Holy Ghost. The St. Andrew Christmas Novena (which I’ll hereby be abbreviating as SACN) is different, though–it’s said fifteen times a day from November 30 (the feast of St. Andrew) to December 24. That’s a lot longer than nine days, so I don’t know how they can still call it a novena, but I don’t make the rules; I just report the facts.

http://www.fisheaters.com/customsadvent7.html

There’s another Christmas novena that’s recited once a day for the traditional nine days, going from December 16 to the 25.

http://www.fisheaters.com/customsadvent8.html

It’s been a long time since I’ve done the SACN–mainly because I lost my copy of the prayer–but I’m glad I found it again. I hope you find it beneficial if you decide to pray it.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Catholic Stuff

Leave a Reply

