Reacting to the “Once Upon a Time” Winter Finale *Obviously Spoilers*

Not sure how coherent this is going to be, but here goes:

I’m glad to see the Frozen storyline is finally over. Although the OUaT versions of Elsa, Anna, and Kristoff did grow on me, I was skeptical of introducing such a recent release into the pantheon of established classics. Also, I wasn’t completely sold on Ingrid’s motive for casting the Spell of Shattered Sight in the first place. Yes, I know love is an important role in the show, but it would be nice to have a variation on motives for Evil Schemes of Evilness once in awhile!

Fortunately, Rumpelstiltskin is never short on motives–even though his plans cost him dearly this time. It was fascinating to see him revert to his villainous tendencies despite the knowledge that this couldn’t end well…and it didn’t. I knew things would not be pretty when Belle found out he’d been lying the entire time, but that scene was completely unexpected (if you’ve seen the episode, you’ll know exactly what I mean. If you haven’t, I’m not about to spoil it).

I’m not particularly anxious about the March premiere mainly because I already know Rumple will find his way back, but I’m definitely intrigued with this whole Author scenario. More and more I’m beginning to suspect that the Sorcerer and the Author are one and the same. And maybe–just maybe–we’ll get a halfway decent explanation for how and why Ursula is in New York City…or how and why Maleficent is back when Emma killed her in season 1.

And as an afterthought…I was way too amused when Belle used the phrase “my turn to talk”. Because I am geeky like that.

Leave a comment

Filed under Reviews

Leave a Reply

