A Reflection on Christmas Lights

Ready or not, Christmas is this week. The people in my neighborhood are certainly ready; lights and decorations are proudly displayed, and you can tell a lot of love went into the decorating process. Granted, a few people may have gotten too enthusiastic, but they still meant well.

Surveying all the lights whenever I’ve had to go somewhere at night, though, got me thinking–and when I think, a post here usually follows. The contrast of the brightly colored lights shining out in the darkness reminded me in a roundabout way about how Christ is the Light of the world, the Light that shines in the Darkness (and the Darkness did not comprehend it). December can be a dark, cold, dreary month, but the lights with which we festoon our houses at Christmas bring us happiness and hope and help to push back the dark just a little bit. So, too, does Christ shine out in the darkness of the world and our lives, bringing us hope and showing us a path that leads out of the darkness. So stringing Christmas lights seems appropriate when you think about it; the lights we put on display are a reminder of the Light that came into the world.

“Gee, Emerald,” you’re probably thinking, “how do you manage to turn such seemingly random things into a reference to Catholicism?” The answer: half the time I don’t know where I come up with this stuff. But I do a lot of thinking, and stuff pops into my head, and if I think it’s coherent enough, I’ll post it on here.

Leave a comment

Filed under Catholic Stuff

Leave a Reply

