So Apparently Disney is Making a Live-Action Version of “Beauty and the Beast”

I’ve heard rumors of this for about a year, usually in the comments section of trailers for their live-action version of Cinderella, which is coming out on March 13. I never fully believed those rumors until a few days ago when I saw the announcement that British actress Emma Watson (best known for her role in the Harry Potter films) had been cast as Belle in Disney’s upcoming live-action version of Beauty and the Beast.

I freely admit this–I am excited for this movie. Beauty and the Beast is one of my favorite Disney films, and to have it come back to theaters is something I never thought I would see. I really hope they include some of the songs from the Broadway musical; “If I Can’t Love Her”, “Home”, and “Me” deserve to have more exposure.

I don’t know why I’m bothering to be excited; I remember how my hopes and dreams were crushed with Les Miserables and The Hobbit trilogy. I guess I’m just hoping this time is different.

I’m also really hoping they’ll eventually do a live-action Hunchback of Notre Dame.

7 Comments

Filed under Reviews

7 responses to “So Apparently Disney is Making a Live-Action Version of “Beauty and the Beast”

  1. The project went through several changes. Originally it was a Warner Brothers film with guillermo del toro directing.

  2. Kat

    They are?! Wow….Emma Watson is perfect for the role. I wonder who they’ll have for the Beast? Like you, I was pretty crushed by The Hobbit trilogy, so I can’t get too excited about a live-action Beauty and the Beast, which is my favorite fairytale… Still, maybe they won’t mess it up. Here’s hoping!

    • I could see Benedict Cumberbatch as the Beast very easily–he certainly has the voice for it. And we could have Martin Freeman as Cogsworth and Tom Hiddleston as Lumiere! Not sure yet whom I’d like to see as Gaston, though…although the real question is whether or not we can involve Peter Capaldi in any way, shape, or form.

  3. I must have been living under a rock… this is actually the first I’ve heard of this Cinderella movie. I agree that there are reasons not to get too excited… about Beauty and the Beast – if this production proves to be anything like Disney’s live-action version of 101 Dalmatians, we’d be better off forgetting about it (have you seen that? It was… a sad attempt.) But the idea of including the stage musical songs suggests that they might stick closer to the original script. Oh, well, we can only wait and see. If it’s awful, at least we still have the original film and the stage musical. (Yes, the songs from the musical, especially “Home,” “If I Can’t Love Her” and “A Change in Me” deserve a wider audience.)
    – Katherine

Leave a Reply

