Two-for-One Nerd Update: “Beauty and the Beast” and “The Force Awakens”

It seems that a lot has been going on in geeky realms while I have been busy with other, less-exciting aspects of life, but now that I have some free time again, I am determined to summarize some of what I’ve learned about the two movies I am getting really excited to see, Disney’s live-action Beauty and the Beast and Star Wars Episode VII: The Force Awakens.

Wow, that was a long sentence.

Beauty and the Beast

I may have been disappointed about my dream cast not coming through, but this little bit of casting news almost completely makes up for it–Ian McKellan is going to be in it! That’s right, ladies and gentlemen, Magneto/Gandalf/elderly Sherlock Holmes has joined the cast of Beauty and the Beast as Cogsworth. That’s not necessarily a role I would have associated with him, but, hey, it’s Ian McKellan. He’ll be awesome.

They’ve also cast Emma Thompson as Mrs. Potts, Josh Gad as Le Fou, Gugu Mbatha-Raw (Martha’s sister Tish from Doctor Who‘s third season) as Plumette (Lumiere’s feather duster girlfriend), and Audra McDonald as Madame de la Grande Bouche (Belle’s wardrobe). Yep, this is shaping up to be a pretty exciting movie.

Star Wars Episode VII: The Force Awakens

So…this happened yesterday.

I can feel my skepticism melting away each time I watch this trailer, which is not necessarily a good thing. Return of the Jedi was a good way to end the series; I’m still not sure The Force Awakens is a necessary addition. But…I watch the ships and the battles and the light sabers, and I can’t muster enough energy to care that it will likely end badly like another franchise I could name (coughHobbitTrilogycough). My younger, more pathetically nerdy self is just excited that Star Wars is returning to the big screen.

1 Comment

Filed under Reviews

One response to “Two-for-One Nerd Update: “Beauty and the Beast” and “The Force Awakens”

  1. Pingback: Happy Birthday, My Turn to Talk! | My Turn to Talk

Leave a Reply

