Underwhelming and Vaguely Disappointing…

…aka my reaction to the 1984 version of Dune.

I’ve mentioned a few times on my blog that I have wanted to see this movie since it is an adaptation of one of my favorite novels. Now that I’ve actually seen it, I thought it only fair that I share my impressions with you.

It. Was. Terrible.

They changed several of the established facts for how the Dune universe works (how the Guild Agents navigate through space, some of the Bene Gesserit powers), cut major scenes (no dinner party and no duel with Jamis), and added things that didn’t entirely make sense (how could the Guild have known about Paul’s powers before Paul himself did? Why did the sandworms have lightning to herald their arrival? Why did the Atreides have a pug?).

What was left of the plot felt forced and rushed, and we didn’t really have a chance to get to know characters like Stilgar and Chani. Oh, and Paul and Chani didn’t have a son.

The one redeeming point of the movie was the sandworms. They were appropriately awesome although, as I said, there was the weird lightning effect to mark their approach. I’m still not sure what that was for.

So, yeah, I wasn’t pleased with this version. Several years ago, however, I remember seeing a miniseries of Dune that originally aired on the SciFi (I think it’s SyFy now) Channel. Even though it’s been awhile since I’ve seen it, I seem to remember that it was much closer to the book than this was.

This is just example 1,941 of the book being better than the movie.

Leave a comment

Filed under Reviews

Leave a Reply

