Some Thoughts on “Star Wars: Episode VII: The Force Awakens” *Massive, Massive SPOILERS!*

I have finally gotten to see The Force Awakens in the theater, and as I mentioned earlier, I am here to review it for all to enjoy. There are going to be lots and lots of spoilers, so turn back now if you haven’t seen it yet and still want to be surprised!

Where to begin, where to begin? First, let us observe a moment of silence for the Darth Jar Jar theory. Lumpawarroo, if you somehow manage to see this post, I still believe.

One of the few complaints against this movie was that the plot was simply a rehash of A New Hope, and it basically was. Sending the droid off with the secret plans, getting stuck on a desert planet, escaping with the Millennium Falcon–yep, we’ve seen this all before. And then the First Order builds the Starkiller, which is basically just a gigantic Death Star–really, guys, is that the only design you have? It’s been, what, 30 years since Return of the Jedi; didn’t your engineers come up with a different plan by now? And then the Resistance destroys it in exactly the same way. Come on, J.J., get creative!

It wasn’t all bad; I really like the new trio of Poe, Rey, and Finn. I hope we get to see more of Poe in Episode VIII since it seems he was barely in this one. And I must admit that the trailers had me convinced that Finn was the Force-sensitive character of the new trilogy, so I was genuinely surprised when it turned out to be Rey. I’m fairly certain Rey will turn out to be Luke’s daughter for a number of reasons:

  1. We’ve already seen how strong she is with the Force–she resisted Kylo Ren’s attempts to read her mind; she tricked a guard into letting her go, and she was able to ultimately beat Kylo in their lightsaber duel.
  2. She can fly any ship she gets her hands on, a trait she shares with Anakin Skywalker. In the Rebellion of the original trilogy, Luke was also an exceptional pilot.
  3. When both Rey and Kylo were trying to summon Luke’s lightsaber, it flew to Rey. Kylo claimed the lightsaber rightfully belonged to him, but the fact that it preferred Rey indicates that she had the greater claim.
  4. If Rey is a Skywalker, why should we think she’s Luke’s daughter? Well, Leia and Han didn’t recognize or acknowledge her as their daughter, so if she has Skywalker blood, it must be through Luke.

Speaking of Kylo Ren…I’m sorry, I cannot take him seriously as a Sith Lord. He’s too young; his hair is too fabulous, and he’s too whiny. How did he wind up so angsty after coming from such awesome parents as Han and Leia? (As an aside, if you want a good laugh, check out the Emo Kylo Ren Twitter account.) My initial theory about his identity, that he was a former student of Luke’s who turned against him, turned out to be correct, so I was happy that I had guessed that part.

It wasn’t all sunshine and nostalgic rainbows in this movie, though. J.J. Abrams committed the unthinkable act of KILLING HAN SOLO. One of the most iconic characters in all of Star Wars is no more; a piece of my childhood has been crumpled up and tossed in the trash can. It’s…it’s kind of hard to cope with this, guys.

All things considered, I did enjoy this movie. In previous posts I had mentioned my concerns that this was going to turn into another Hobbit debacle, but there weren’t any huge deviations from established canon. Of course, if I go back and rewatch all of the other movies, I’ll probably find an inconsistency somewhere, but for now I think I’ll just enjoy the warm fuzzy feeling that comes from having watched Star Wars on the big screen…even if the villain was more amusing than terrifying.

3 Comments

Filed under Reviews

3 responses to “Some Thoughts on “Star Wars: Episode VII: The Force Awakens” *Massive, Massive SPOILERS!*

  1. Ellen Virginia

    Hi there!

    I’m also still reeling from Han’s death . . . I was so shocked that I couldn’t even cry. How dare they? It’s just not time to let him go yet. More than anything else, I was looking forward to seeing the whole family together for the first time in 30 years. I feel cheated . . . Han and Leia estranged from each other? They only have one child, who is the villain? Luke and Han are *never* going to see each other again? It’s horribly depressing!

    Speaking of Luke, he is my other disappointment. He is my ultimate favorite character, and I was dying to see him on a theater screen for the first time (in spite of the beard . . . ). All throughout the movie, I was thinking, “Come on, Luke, where are you?” And then not only does he not show up until the final 10 seconds or so, but he doesn’t even speak a single word! Furthermore, Luke would *never* hide on a remote planet and desert his family like that. Never. It’s totally out of character for him. I mean, we’re talking about the man who repeatedly risked his life to save his friends and family and redeem Darth Vader! As I said, I feel cheated . . .

    Of course, I agree that the “A New Hope” rehash was extremely disappointing, and I wasn’t impressed with Kylo Ren as a villain, either. I did like Rey, Finn, and Poe, although I was there to see Luke, Han, and Leia, not them . . .

    I also hope that Rey is Luke’s daughter, for the reasons you listed. Also because the music that played when she pulled Luke’s lightsaber to her hand was taken straight from the scene in “A New Hope” when Luke discovers the charred remains of his aunt and uncle. In addition, I simply want him to have a family.

    It *was* surreal and unbelievably cool to see Star Wars in a theater . . . My heart was pounding like crazy during the opening theme music, and I couldn’t help gasping aloud when I *finally* saw Luke.

    I hope Episode VIII has a more creative plot, and that Luke is an active participant. And there better be an emotional reunion scene between him and Leia, complete with hugs and tears! But Han won’t be there to share it . . . I’m not sure how I’m going to handle that.

    • You made some very good points about Luke–after everything he did in the original trilogy, hiding out in the middle of nowhere seems unusual for him. I didn’t notice the music thing with the lightsaber, but lots of other people have talked about it, so I’m interested to watch it again and pay more attention to that scene.

      Like you, I also hope Episode VIII has a more creative plot–and I hope Kylo Ren develops a backbone in the interim. 😉

  2. Pingback: Happy Birthday, My Turn to Talk! | My Turn to Talk

Leave a Reply

