When You Have No Clue about a Franchise and Enjoy the Movie Everyone Else is Hating

The majority of you are probably aware that Independence Day: Resurgence is currently playing in theaters. It is the sequel to the 1996 blockbuster Independence Day and once again features the good ol’ US of A pitted against fearsome alien invaders who want to mine the Earth’s core. Here’s the thing, though–I haven’t watched Independence Day yet, and I didn’t want to see Resurgence for that very reason. Movies are supposed to be watched in order, people! We must have standards and rules if we don’t want chaos to descend! Watching movies out of order is two steps away from anarchy!

Ahem. Sorry about that. Once I got over my initial hangups, I found that I enjoyed the movie. I didn’t know about a lot of the characters at first, but I figured things out about them from context. On the whole I found it to be an intriguing story that hinted at a deeper, more richly layered backstory, and it got me even more excited to watch the original.

Needless to say, I developed quite a bit of confusion when I began seeing a plethora of reviews tearing it to shreds, asking questions like, “We waited 20 years for this?” Basically, most of the articles I’ve seen on it have been saying it’s a horrible sequel with terrible acting and lousy writing, and I’m over here like, “But…but I liked it. I thought it was good.” Granted, my opinion of it may change after I watch the original, but I still thought it was a fun mishmash of war movies and science fiction.

Or maybe this is all just a lesson in you can’t always believe what the critics have to say about a movie. Sometimes you just have to watch things for yourself and form your own opinion.

Leave a comment

Filed under Reviews

Leave a Reply

