Star Trek Online Now Lets You Play in the TOS Era!

I’m not really a gamer per se; I just enjoy casually playing video games and 9 times out of 10 have absolutely no idea what I’m doing (consequently, I die a lot). But this was particularly exciting news that I wanted to share with all of you–Star Trek Online now lets you create a character in the 23rd century, i.e., the same time frame as The Original Series!

For those of you who might not know, STO usually sets you up sometime in the 25th century after most of the established events of all of the other shows. But with their new “Agents of Yesterday” expansion, you can now create a character in the 23rd century and play out story lines that correspond to TOS episodes (among them are “The Galileo Seven” and “Journey to Babel”). You even get to interact with some of the famous Enterprise crew members!

About the only bad thing I have to say about this is that–and I think this technically qualifies as a spoiler–there’s a point in the game where your character “dies” but really gets rescued by time travelers and brought to live in the 25th century. I suppose that’s all well and good, but I wanted to keep hanging out in the 23rd century! It was more fun! Or perhaps I’m just biased because TOS will always and forever be my favorite Star Trek series.

If I’ve left out anything important or skipped over important details, I apologize. As I said, I’m not really a gamer and don’t know what I’m doing half of the time. This was just something I found that was really fun and exciting and paid homage to one of my favorite TV shows.

Leave a comment

Filed under Random Things of Randomness

Leave a Reply

