Jedi vs. Sith in Star Wars: The Old Republic

Over the last few months I’ve been playing Star Wars: The Old Republic because how could you not want to play a game that gives you a lightsaber and sends you on adventures throughout the galaxy? I started as a Jedi, but I eventually added a Sith because I was curious about the similarities and differences between the two, and I wanted to see if one was easier to play than the other. Ability-wise, they’re pretty evenly matched, but I have noticed some differences in how they fight. The Jedi seems much more fluid and in control in her movements whereas the Sith seems to have a…well, the only way I can think to describe it is a harsher quality; her movements seem ragged, and she seems to be relying on instinct rather than skill (which I suppose is normal for Sith). Now this could just be an example of not knowing what I’m doing (I’m not a gamer, and I doubt I’ll ever get that good), but I think it could also be a sign of how different the Jedi and Sith codes are (found on Wookieepedia).

There is no emotion, there is peace.
There is no ignorance, there is knowledge.
There is no passion, there is serenity.
There is no chaos, there is harmony.
There is no death, there is the Force.

Peace is a lie, there is only passion.
Through passion, I gain strength.
Through strength, I gain power.
Through power, I gain victory.
Through victory, my chains are broken.
The Force shall free me.

Playing the game has definitely given me new insights into the Jedi and the Sith. It’s one thing to just watch the movies, but it’s another entirely to “live” the experience, so to speak. I think my Sith character is probably stronger, but my Jedi character seems calmer and more focused and, consequently, more efficient. So I think the Jedi win at the end of the day.

Leave a comment

Filed under National Blog Post Writing Month November 2016

Leave a Reply

