St. Augustine’s “City of God”

It’s a book I’ve only started reading recently–I’m less than halfway through it, actually–but just the little bit I’ve read so far has made such an impact on me that I wanted to make a post about it. St. Augustine started writing City of God at the request of his friend Marcellinus, who was concerned about how the pagans were blaming Christianity for the fall of Rome and was looking for a way to refute the claims. City of God starts out as a history of Rome (and shows how the problems that led to its downfall were around even before the Christians showed up), but it gradually expands into other parts of the world as well.

What I find particularly striking, though, is how relevant the book still is. This was written centuries ago, yet I’m finding I can relate to what St. Augustine writes. I suppose it shows how people never really do change, but it also illustrates how the Church belongs to every century.

It’s a short blurb, I know, but I’m hoping to write a more in-depth post about it once I actually finish it. But based on what I’ve read so far, it’s quite a fascinating read.

3 Comments

Filed under National Blog Post Writing Month November 2016

3 responses to “St. Augustine’s “City of God”

  1. Have you noted two things about it?

    a) St Augustine takes Iliad, Odyssey and Aeneid as history.
    b) St Augustine is also a Young Earth Creationist.

    Between converting to Catholicism at age 20 and reading City of God at age 30, I took a break off Young Earth Creationism. Not so any more after reading City of God.

    • It didn’t really surprise me about the Iliad et al. because archaeologists have found the ruins of Troy, so most historians acknowledge that the Battle of Troy was a real event. I haven’t gotten to the parts about Creation yet, but I’ll definitely pay attention to that when I do.

  2. So interesting… looking to hear more from your perspective.

Leave a Reply

