First Sunday of Advent

The liturgical calendar turns over once more, and I’m trying to process how it got to be Advent so quickly, where time is going, and what, if anything, I’m accomplishing with my life. Over-self-analysis aside, Advent is a special season all its own, which is why I get frustrated when people skip over it and head straight to Christmas. Advent helps us prepare for the two comings of Christ–the first one at Christmas and the second one at the end of the world. More accurately, we prep for the second coming by remembering the first, by drawing parallels between the first period of waiting and the one we face now. Of course, the second coming will be considerably from the first, but the waiting period we face now is not too different from the one the Jews faced when waiting for the birth of the Messiah. Even the Advent song “O Come, Divine Messiah” has lyrics that can be applied either to the season before Christmas or to the current state of our world.

Sweet Savior, haste!
Come, come to Earth;
Dispel the night and show Thy face,
And bid us hail the dawn of grace.

On a different note, this is officially the 400th post on my blog, a number I didn’t think I would hit, but I’m glad I made it this far.

Leave a comment

Filed under National Blog Post Writing Month November 2016

Leave a Reply

