Farewell, 2016

It was a hard year that saw the deaths of a lot of celebrities (including the most recent passings of Carrie Fisher and her mother Debbie Reynolds) as well as one of the most hotly-contested US presidential elections in recent memory. But there were good things that happened this year, too–Star Trek celebrated its 50th anniversary; Doctor Who gave us a Christmas special we’ll not soon forget, and there are always books to read and movies to watch and games to play. Perhaps it’s the hobbit in me, but I always try to find the bright spots in a bleak year because in the end, those are the moments worth remembering. Plus, we get a new season of Sherlock tomorrow, which is always welcome.

I also wanted to take a moment to share the patron saint generator for 2017: http://saintsnamegenerator.com/index.php. I’ve always thought this was cool, and it’s a great opportunity to learn about a new saint. My patron saint for 2017 is St. Leopold III, patron saint of Austria. I’m not entirely sure how well this will work since I’m not Austrian, but he was a good king who did his best to lead a holy life, and I can identify with that (not the king part, the trying to lead a holy life part).

Alas, I had hoped WordPress would have published a recap of my blogging this past year, but for some reason I didn’t get one. I guess the biggest thing that happened in my blogging is that I published my 400th post, which is certainly more posts than I ever thought I would have.

See you all in 2017!

Leave a comment

Filed under Random Things of Randomness

Leave a Reply

