Star Wars: Episode VIII Title Released!

We now know what the title for the next Star Wars movie is! Are you ready? It’s (insert drum roll) The Last Jedi.

As titles go, it’s not terrible. I guess I was a little disappointed that it broke the theme of the second leg of the trilogy having a title of four words (Episode II was Attack of the Clones; Episode V was The Empire Strikes Back). It’s probably a dumb thing to be sad about, though, so I’ll probably get over it. It definitely is interesting, so I’m certainly eager to see what the next chapter is.

I just hope it doesn’t turn out to be a rehash of The Empire Strikes Back.

2 Comments

Filed under Random Things of Randomness

2 responses to “Star Wars: Episode VIII Title Released!

  1. Ellen Virginia

    Hi!

    My first reaction to the title was the proverbial “I have a bad feeling about this.” It’s so ominous and depressing, not to mention uncreative. And it makes no sense . . . Only about 30 years after the *return* of the Jedi, in the aptly title conclusion to the original trilogy, we’re already down to the *last*? What? I didn’t like “The Force Awakens” because it completely undermined all the struggles and sacrifices of the original trilogy (not to mention what it did to my beloved characters), and now I’m afraid that “The Last Jedi” is going to continue that disappointing pattern.

    • I definitely agree with you about the character assassinations in The Force Awakens, not to mention that it did kind of feel tacked on–it didn’t quite seem to flow naturally from Return of the Jedi. Truth be told, I’m not sure how I feel about it yet. I never did think a sequel trilogy was a good idea. I’m still holding out hope that it will be marginally good and that will at least be shiny lightsabers to look at that will make me temporarily forget all the problems with the narrative.

Leave a Reply

